Ball at Rest Moved (Rule 18)

captain_2010

Rule of the Week - Ball at Rest Moved (Rule 18)

Rule of the week.

Ball at Rest Moved (Rule 18)

18-1. By Outside Agency

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and

the ball must be replaced.

Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an

outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or

virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the

absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball

as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1.

(Player's ball at rest moved by another ball - see Rule 18-5)

18-2. By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment

a. General

When a player's ball is in play, if:

(i) the player, his partner or either of their caddies lifts or moves it,

touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing it)

or causes it to move except as permitted by a Rule, or

(ii) equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move,

the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. If the ball is moved, it must be

replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has

begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke

and the stroke is made.

Under the Rules there is no penalty if a player accidentally causes his

ball to move in the following circumstances:

. In searching for a ball in a hazard covered by loose impediments

or sand, for a ball in an obstruction or abnormal ground condition

or for a ball believed to be in water in a water hazard - Rule 12-1

. In repairing a hole plug or ball mark - Rule 16-1c

. In measuring - Rule 18-6

. In lifting a ball under a Rule - Rule 20-1

. In placing or replacing a ball under a Rule - Rule 20-3a

. In removing a loose impediment on the putting green - Rule 23-1

. In removing movable obstructions - Rule 24-1

b. Ball Moving After Address

If a player's ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a

result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and

incurs a penalty of one stroke.The ball must be replaced, unless the

movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the

backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.